Halloween Vault

10/27/2012 12:00

 

First Vault Competition of the Year!

 

I had only a few technique vault practices before this meet so I went in not expecting a whole lot.  It was a ton of fun to see all of the kids dressed up.  Even Pacer came as a “HotDog” and had a second costume as a “Kissing BOOth”! 

If I learned anything from this meet is that you must go into every competition with a goal.  Now I’m not talking about a goal such as “I want to PR” or “I want to jump 4.30m”.  I am referring to a technique goal or even a mental goal.  I was not mentally prepared to jump over a bar yet and think about the height, since I had only a hand full of practices under my belt.  My goal for that meet was just to get some good practice in focusing on my take off.

Even “bad” meets, you can get something out of!