Having a team in an individualized sport

08/03/2013 09:51

Pole vault is an individual sport.  You are the only one on the back of the runway.  If you miss the bar, it was on you.  If you make it, you did it.  Or is it more of a team sport than we realize?

Being the only athlete at the nursing campus, I never felt a part of the Linfield track team.  I was able to train with my club coach and just jump in the meets that didn’t coincide with my nursing schedule.  Most national meets I went by myself.  I became good at being independent in my sport.

Jumping at the Clovis Street Vault this past month was more than a meet, it was an experience.  Bob Fraley, the meet directory, said the theme of the meet this year was all about being a team. 

This was a unique meet where athletes competed as a team.  Not only was it a team of mixed genders, but with mixed skill levels.

From the beginning, it was beyond obvious that team New Orleans was the most supportive team there.  We all cheered for each other, got the clap going with the crowd, and celebrated each other’s victories.  Every one of our team members tied their personal best or jumped at that bar, and team New Orleans won!

I’ve had a career of individual sports being a gymnast, swimmer, and track athlete.  After this meet I have realized that being a part of a team is just so much more fun!  I enjoyed spending time with the high schoolers and getting to know all of the elites.  Even though we are not a “team sport”, pole vaulters should still keep a team sport mentality.