In Louisiana! Update on two week trip.

04/13/2013 10:05

 

As of April 8th I have been training with Erica Bartolina in the beautiful state of Louisiana!   I already feel like I have learned so much and pole vault is fun again!  

It has been a blast traveling with my best friend.   Misty and I got into New Orleans at 2am April 9th.  Tuesday we spent sleeping in and watching vault practices from 4-6 and 6-8.  All the kids are so sweet.  I love the "Yes mam"s and "Yes Miss Erica"'s.  We did a warm up and a general strength work out. 

Wednesday was my first vault practice with Erica.  She pointed out several issues that I need to work on; one being my tense shoulders in my take out.  We have already gotten more movement in my arms with the use of visual cues.  I really like this coaching style because it is like my gymnastics back ground.  It also gives me a focus when I take off.   Looking at my bottom hand is a simple task, but it helps with some not so simple technique; like putting my in the right position and focusing on driving up on takeoff without having to do too much complex thinking.  

Thursday the three of us went to the track to do some sprinting.  My new focus in running is my knee lift.  I have a tendency to lower my knees when I get tired.

Friday was another awesome vault day, working motion through my shoulder and looking at my bottom hand.  I have posted a video of one of my practice jumps over a bungee.  After our practice we all went to a local high school meet and watch some of Erica’s vaulters.  

I have learned a lot related to vault and training so far and I am really excited about what else I will be able to learn.