Poor, Starving, Struggling Athletes

10/13/2013 17:41

            When trying to decided what I wanted my message to be this month I came across a story that hit a little too close to home. 

            I am asked all the time if I get paid to vault.  My response to this is usually laughter.  Yes I won my first big prize money this year and walked away with a couple hundred dollars that didn’t even pay for my plane ticket to get there.  It’s sad to me that other countries pay for their athletes to train full time and then there are stories like Brad Walker’s in the US.

            Track and Field is an endangered sport.  Our fan base is small and the expense is great.  I’m afraid that our sport will soon become extinct if we don’t stand up for what we work so hard for!  I urge you to read Brad’s story and support your athletes before you no longer see US athletes on the podium and see young athletes give up on their dreams due to a lack of support.

Brads Story:

“After placing 4th at worlds I was dropped from NIKE. Well sort of dropped. Let me explain. 
     After my 2012 season, making the Olympic final, having one of the top 5 highest jumps of the year, and being ranked top 10 in the world, I was offered a contract that would allow me to purchase about a used 2008 Prius. And if you don't know what that value is, let’s just say that it is well below the poverty line…
     I reluctantly signed, and I was on my way. Now my shoes are made especially for me. I have a carbon plate inserted into the shoe because the base pv light shoe is not nearly stiff enough. It’s a bit of a hassle to get new ones because they come out of Beaverton to be made and shipped. And since I, and they need a window of a few weeks, hadn't signed my used Prius contract, I didn't feel it was right for me to ask for new shoes heading into Worlds. 
     So I took my NIKE pv lights into the comp and laced  ‘em up like ‘normal. The velcro on the shoes is not up to par…The shoes share the same space as my chalk bag, the velcro fills with chalk, and gets even less grippy. So after warmups, knowing the straps were barely stuck on, I taped them. This isn't new…
     The last thing I need at Worlds with a 1:00 time clock is to have a strap come loose and flop around during my approach. So....tape em up and let’s go. 
     Big no no…
     I received an email from my manager stating that the man in charge was absolutely furious with me… "We no longer want Brad, tell him to look elsewhere." And there you have it. 
     I am no longer a NIKE athlete because while trying to use one of their products, I had to use tape to hold together a shoe that shouldn't break down within 6 months. 
     The real bummer out of all of this is that if 4th best vaulter in the world can't sign a deal that allows him to be a full time athlete, than I am scared of what our younger vaulters are going to be facing. We are truly amateur again. 
     I do have a plan… I am going to be selling every article of NIKE clothing and shoes that I own. Olympic jackets, pole vault spikes, Free's, and training shoes etc... I won't be wearing NIKE again in my future, and liquidating may actually help me mentally as well as financially. That way I can pay rent and train like a professional athlete. “
 

This story was jaw-dropping.  Like Brad said, if he can’t support himself how can any of us hopefuls?  This is where I feel so blessed about my new PRN (as needed) nursing job.  I will be serving others while helping fund my training.   I always want to continue being an advocate in the pole vault world.