US Indoor Nationals

03/02/2013 12:30

I have competed in my first US National Championships!  The experience in Albuquerque New Mexico was one I will never forget.  I opened at 13'7", which was a new opening height for me and I cleared it.  I was disappointed that I didn't move up poles soon enough to clear 4.25m, which I could have easily made, but I was happy with how well I did considering not practices since my last meet in early February.  

I had a first row seat as Jenn Suhr broke the women’s indoor world record at 5.02m (16'5.5"), miles ahead of the rest of the competition.  I was able to chat with Mary Saxer and Kylie Hutson about their experiences being professional pole vaulters.  I personally loved it when everyone else laughed when I asked if they had full time jobs too.  Looks like there are going to be some work changes on the horizon for me.

If I learned anything from this meet it was this; If I can jump my PR with minimal to no training, just imagine what I could do if I was able to focus soley on pole vault!