What to do when things go wrong: My first pole break.

05/06/2013 16:23

 

            I was so excited when I started training with Erica.  I was learning new things and my body was feeling stronger.  I had in my head that everything was going to be perfect once I was down in Louisiana to train.  I had amazing days vaulting from my short run and working on new technical drills.  Everything was going smoothly during  my first week.

            The first practice I had jumping from my long run I broke a pole.

            This was the first “real” pole break I have had.  Luckily I came out with just some busied up hands and no injuries. 

            However, it took a little mental toll on me.  The first thing I thought was “what did I do wrong?” and that I must not be doing as well as I thought.  I was taught from the beginning things not to do or I could break a pole.  So, obviously I must be a horrible vault now since I broke a pole. 

After talking with Erica she told me that I was actually running a lot fast than normal, had a huge take off, and took off under.   

            Sometime things can go wrong even when you are doing everything right.  It can be scary and it can hurt, but you can either let it carry you down or let it motivate you to work harder. 

            Things aren’t going to be perfect all of a sudden just because I changed a variable or two.  Pole vault has taught me that you can accomplish more than you think with just having a positive mindset.

            I am so exicted to be training with Erica full time starting in May.  However, I not going into it thinking that everything will be perfect, but that everything will be hard.  Everything I have accomplished has been through hard work and I can’t wait to see what my hard work will turn into this time.